XPO Logistics Names AnnaMaria DeSalva to Board of Directors

XPO Logistics, Inc. (NYSE: XPO) today announced the appointment of AnnaMaria DeSalva to its board of directors, effective immediately. DeSalva has joined the board as an independent director of the company. Her appointment expands XPO's board to eight directors, six of whom are independent directors.

Brad Jacobs, chairman and chief executive officer of XPO Logistics, said, "AnnaMaria brings more than 20 years of compelling executive experience to our board, with an emphasis on helping global companies excel at brand development and cultural integration. Her appointment furthers XPO's commitment to strong corporate governance and a diversity that reflects our strategy and scale." 

DeSalva is global chief communications officer for DuPont, where she is responsible for corporate brand strategy and stakeholder communications, most recently related to the $150 billion merger with Dow. Prior to joining DuPont in 2014, she served as head of corporate affairs for biopharmaceutical innovation at Pfizer, a role that included the integration of Pfizer's $68 billion acquisition of Wyeth. Earlier, she served as an advisor to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, and led the global healthcare practice of Hill & Knowlton. For Bristol-Myers Squibb, she led global public affairs for the oncology business with a focus on European market development, and served as the director of the Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation.

DeSalva graduated with honors from The College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Va. She has completed the Harvard School of Public Health's executive education program in risk communication, and the Advanced Health Leadership Program jointly offered by the University of California at Berkeley and Pompau University in Barcelona, Spain.

In addition to XPO Logistics, she serves on the board of governors of Argonne National Laboratory, a science and engineering research laboratory of the U.S. Department of Energy, and is a member of its compensation and nominating committees; as well as the boards of directors of the non-profit Project Sunshine and the William & Mary Alumni Association.